The times they are a changin’

I’ve updated my Route page to include the latest estimated walking times generated by the “Where’s the Path” app.  I’m not sure why the times have changed but I’m pleased to say they are less than before and in some cases seem much more realistic.  Of course only time will tell and according to my iPod countdown app that’s in just over 47 days from now.

I continue to check things off my to-do list and deal with all the neccessary tasks that need to be sorted before I leave the country (out-of-country medical insurance, income taxes, etc.).  I’ve determined where my mail drops will be and have purchased some resealable boxes to post my maps in.  I’m going to leave the boxes flat and slip them into the duffle bag (along with my backpack) that I’m checking when I fly to London.

Compiling my Family History notes is taking longer than expected but I’m chipping away at it every week.  I’m spending a day in Southampton prior to the walk and just purchased my return rail ticket from London for the unbelievably low price of £2.50!  That’s only 20 pence more than my tube fare to London Waterloo.  I booked it through megatrains.com.

I’m off on another training walk this Saturday.  Last time it rained steadily for several hours and so I had a good chance to test out my wet weather gear.  My rain pants, although not gortex, worked very well and I didn’t overheat despite the mild temperatures.  My hat on the other hand did not meet expectations and has been cut from the team.  I’ve decided to use a baseball cap instead as I have about a dozen to choose from.  The forecast for this weekend is sunny and mild (12-13 degrees) and the cherry blossoms are blooming all over the city … Spring has almost sprung.

Last but not least … best of luck to Chris Wilkinson who began his epic coast-line walk today.  You can follow his adventure on his 4 Million Steps blog.

One thought on “The times they are a changin’

  1. Well Chris must say those temperatures would be good early April, here i’ve found it not so much the low temp as the biting easterly that has been uncomfortable, maybe the olympics should have moved to Scotland who are having a fantastic ski season. Lets hope Chris Wilkinson’s proximity to the sea will be a little milder, suspect it will be 3 to 4 weeks before we see cherry blosom.

Leave a Reply

