London Day 2

March 28, 2010 London
Weather: Sun and Cloud B&B: Kathy’s (Pimlico)

The day began early as I was wide awake at 5am and figured I might as well jot down some notes for my blog. After breakfast I ran a bunch of errands and put together my box of maps so that it will be ready to ship to Brian on Monday morning.

In the afternoon I wandered around Bloomsbury in search of a couple of points of interest related to my 4xgreat-grandparents who were married in St. George’s Parish Church in December 1845. I arrived just after the Palm Sunday ceremony and one of the helpful staff described its history and recent restoration. He also invited me to take photos which I’ve included in my ‘London (Family History)’ gallery.

For those of you looking for free wireless connections in London I’ve found three chains that offer it via “The Cloud”. There’s no charge for the service but you do need to register an account. Once this is set up you can log in from any JD Weatherspoon’s pub, Pret a Manger coffee shop or McDonalds. You’ll automatically be taken to the “Cloud” page when you try to access the internet from these locations.

I tested out the free wireless access at The Willows Walk Weatherspoon’s pub opposite Victoria Station. I also tucked in to a Sunday Roast for £6.99 … and that included a pint of Marston’s Pedigree. Not everyone’s a fan of this pub chain and I confess they are rarely my first pub of choice. However when you can purchase a well-kept pint of Abbot’s Ale for £2.45 in London you have to admit that’s a pretty good deal.

2 thoughts on “London Day 2

    • Good luck with your last minute preparations. Perhaps our paths will cross somewhere along the way … I’ll keep my eyes peeled for Alfie!

Leave a Reply

