Walk Day 20 – Yate to Dursley

Day 20 – April 25 Yate to Dursley
 Weather: Cloudy w/sunny breaks  B&B: 7 Prospect Place (£32.00)
 Departed: 08:45 Arrived: 15:30  Walked: 4 hr 51m Rested: 1 hr 52m
 Distance Today: 15.0 mi / 24.14 km  Total Distance: 321.6 mi / 517.56 km
 % Complete: ~ 28.46%  Pint of the Day: Wye Valley Brewery Dorothy Goodbody Golden Ale
 GPS Track for: Day 20

I awoke to grey skies and signs that it had rained overnight, the first precipitation in well over two weeks. My b&b host kindly offered to drop me in Chipping Sodbury so I was on my way at 8:45.

It only took a few minutes to exit the built up areas and find the Frome River Walkway. This linked up with the Monarch’s Way and for the next hour I crossed a dozen or so fields on my way to Little Sodbury. Here I joined the Cotswold Way which I was to follow off and on throughout the day. The CW is extremely well signposted, so well in fact that you could probably get away without a map (not that I would recommend it).

The gently rolling countryside ended when I reached the western edge of the southern Cotswold Hills. My plan was to follow the CW but take shortcuts on local roads when they presented themselves. I met a couple of women practicing for a CW walk this summer and joined them for the stretch between Horton and Hawkesbury. The miles passed quickly as we chatted along the way.

I followed a bridleway lined with bleating sheep and lambs towards the village of Hillesley and then through Alderley and Wortley. Along the way I met my first fellow LEJOGers of the trip, Chris and Peter. They walked up through the middle of Cornwall and hope to be in John O’Groats by mid-June.

I was making excellent time so I took a break at the Ship Inn in Wooton-under-Edge. Up until now I had been skirting the edge of the Cotswold Hills but I rejoined the CW and would follow it for the remainder of the day. First up was a very steep climb up Wotton Hill that revealed dramatic views to the south and west. The CW continued through a large woodland and then emerged at the Tynedale Monument just above the village of North Nibley. Once down in the village I stumbled upon my first cricket match of the trip. I enjoyed watching a handful of overs and could easily have sat there all afternoon. Unfortunately I had a couple more miles to go and rain clouds were gathering.

I had to break out my pack cover for the first time since Portreath but the shower quickly ended. There was one more big climb and descent to go before I entered Dursley. I had a heck of a time finding my b&b as the house had no b&b sign and was a on street with no street sign. Furthermore the owner had forgotten that I had booked a room despite it only being arranged a few days ago. Suffice it to say I am not recommending this place to anyone … easily the poorest value for money accommodation I’ve experienced in Britain for a very long time.

4 thoughts on “Walk Day 20 – Yate to Dursley

  1. Hi Steve,

    Managed to do a two mile walk at the weekend, although with two small children it took over two hours – picnic included! It made me realise it would take over a year to do LEJOG at that pace. They would also have to put yellow topped posts or red spots on trees all the way, each one just visible from the last. That might take away some of the challenge with route finding.

    Hope you have a good day.

    Mark

    PS: Rain and poor B&B, you have had a double whammy of the less attractive side of Britain yesterday!

    • Thanks Mark. If you did the LEJOG with two small children you might just be the first to do so! I’m so happy with the weather so far that I won’t grumble if I encounter the odd rain shower. Thanks again for posting your comment. Cheers, Steve.

  2. Hi Steve,
    At last i get hold of the internet and can see how everyone is doing which looks to be very well.
    I havn’t been visited by onyone yet but who knows what this week will bring.
    Wasn’t the Cheddar day just wonderful, sorry i missed you.

    Cheers J.P.

Leave a Reply

