Rest Day 4 & 5 – Hebden Bridge

I’ve enjoyed my two days off in Hebden Bridge, the highlight of which was undoubtedly meeting my long lost cousins from nearby Colne. We had a great chat over a pot of tea and a short wander around. Angela and her mum Sheila are descendants of Emma Harriet Clifford, my great-great-great-grandmother (and the grandmother who raised Herbert). We found each other through the Ancestry website and have been exchanging emails and photos since last summer. They are also related to Janet who I shared a drink with in London at the beginning of April.

Today I rode the buses and enjoyed a brief visit to Haworth, Keithley and Sutton-in-Craven. Haworth was home to the famous Bronte sisters and is now a popular destination for fans of Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. Heathcliffe was nowhere to be found but I did locate the Black Bull pub where I enjoyed a pint of Black Sheep while admiring a painting of the Bronte sisters painted by brother Branwell (a black sheep in his own right).

Keithley is a large market town and the hub for buses that service this area of Yorkshire. I picked up an additional memory card for my camera and had a quick look around before hopping another bus to Sutton-in-Craven. My greatx4 grandfather Jonathon David Marsh was the first Baptist minister in Sutton. I paid a quick visit to the church and the churchyard but the original building is long since gone. I knew this in advance but I thought it was worth a visit as it was only a 15 minute bus ride from Keithley.

It was not all fun and games as I spent much of Tuesday booking accommodation for the next week. Finding a bed in the Dales was tough, especially on a Saturday night. In the end I couldn’t find anywhere in Horton-in-Ribblesdale so I had to redesign my route to take in Wharfdale. I’ve walked through Swaledale, Wensleydale and Littondale in previous trips but never Wharfdale so I’m quite looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

