Walk Day 63 – Invermoriston to Drumnadrochit

Day 63 – June 13 Invermoriston to Drumnadrochit
 Weather: Light rain  B&B: Woodlands B&B (£40)
 Departed: 9:45 Arrived: 14:30  Walked: 4h 14m Rested: 0 hr 20m
 Distance Today: 13.9 mi / 22.37 km  Total Distance: 1018.4 mi / 1638.95 km
 % Complete: ~ 87.42%  Pint of the Day: Kelburn Red Smiddy
 GPS Track for: Day 63

A late start today as I enjoyed a long chat over breakfast with two other walkers in the midst of the Great Glen Way. One look out the window was another reason none of us were too keen to get going: rain and midges. Be that as it may I was on my way by 9:45.

For the past two days I’ve enjoyed easy starts but today it was a steep climb into a pine forest that I would spend the next three hours in. The rain and the midges meant stopping was a no-go so I simply plodded on. There was the occasional view of a misty Loch Ness but to be quite frank the scenery was dull and repetitive.

The logging road slowly descended before climbing again, at one point very steeply through a series of zig-zags. I eventually left the logging road and followed a footpath before finally exiting the forest. It was then a 4 to 5 mile walk along a minor road through rough farmland before descending into the villages of Lewiston and Drumnadrochit.

I made a brief stop at my b&b before walking in to “Drum” to have a look around and to visit the tourist information office. I picked up some bus timetables for a journey I might make to Corrimony (a small settlement 9 miles from Drum) when my walk is over. There’s not much else to see in the village itself as Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle are the main attractions. I’d visited the latter on my visit in 1983 although at the time I had no idea that my ancestors owned it from 1509 to 1912. Of all the family lines I’ve researched the Grants of Corrimony are the only ones who descended from any form of nobility.

Tomorrow I’ll complete the Great Glen Way by walking the final leg to Inverness.

Leave a Reply

