Epilogue – part 3

I thought I’d conclude with a few statistics from my walk.

Estimated length of route: 1094 miles
Actual length of route: 1172.8 miles

Estimated days to complete: 72
Actual days to complete: 72

Estimated number of rest days: 15
Actual number of rest days: 9

Average daily distance: 16.3 miles
Longest day: 29.0 miles (Day 54 – Uphall to Kilsyth)
Shortest day: 7.7 miles (Day 45 – Haltwhistle to Housesteads)

Earliest start: 7:35am (Day 54 – Uphall to Kilsyth)
Latest start: 11:00am (Day 26 – Bridgnorth to Codsall) and
(Day 41 – Middleton-in-Teesdale to Langdon Beck)

Earliest finish: 11:30am (Day 45 – Haltwhistle to Housesteads)
Latest finish: 6:00pm (Day 12 – Clovelly to Barnstaple)

LEJOG walkers met along the way: 7 (Alfie included!)
JOGLE walkers met along the way: 1

Weather summary
Sun: 24 days
Cloud: 14 days
Mix of sun and cloud: 20 days
Showers: 10 days
Rain: 4 days (including 1 snowy morning)

Very Windy: 14 days
Very Hot: 5 days
Very Cold: 2 days

6 thoughts on “Epilogue – part 3

  1. Hi Steve

    so all things come to an end !!

    Although it was a small but nice talk on your day 58, it was fun to follow your walk by reading your blog and looking at your photos.

    Fine you found out more about your family history.

    At home again we wish you a lot of courage to pick up your ‘normal’ life again. We know how that feels !!!!

    Scotland was one great adventure for us. Look at our trip reports on the website. Probably we will return to Scotland/England next year.
    We read about your friend John who is walking the SouthWestCoastPath.
    For us, another options to choose ….
    And there are so much options to choose from….

    We wish you all the best and maybe we will meet again… on a path.. somewhere … sometime….

    cheers Bert and Lucie http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/Forum/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=4267

    • Hi Bert & Lucie,
      Thanks again … it was great walking with you that day, even if it was only briefly. Thanks for the link too, I have already bookmarked it.
      Cheers,
      Steve

  2. Hi Steve,

    All the very best for your future adventures and thanks for keeping us enthralled for nearly 3 months. Turns out it was more exciting to follow than the England team. It feels almost sad that its all come to an end, but i hope you will let us know when your next adventure starts, if ever!!!!

    • Hi Andy,
      Thanks very much. I’m glad you enjoyed following along and I’m sorry that my exploits were more exciting than the England team (but I was following along so I know what you mean). I’m fairly confident of another adventure even if I don’t know exactly when it will be. Thanks again, Steve.

  3. Hi Steve

    Just surfed in to your blog through the search function. I will be having a good root around in here at some point, but first let me congratulate you (a little belatedly) on the Lejog completion. It’s been a burning ambition of mine for quite a long time and sites like this just give me the itch to get out and do it.

    Fantastic site (including your memorial page to the soldiers of WWI) and I wish you all the best with any future walks!

    Aaron

    • Hi Aaron,
      Thanks very much for your kind comments. I’m glad you found my blog and I hope it helps to fuel your burning ambition for a LEJOG of your own. I loved the walk and I’ll definitely be doing another long-distance ramble. I noticed you have a blog as well so I will be checking that out very soon and adding it to my “links” page. Thanks again! Cheers, Steve.

Leave a Reply

