End to End in 2010 … in Print!

In my previous post I explained how I was finding it difficult to adjust to my “post-LEJOG” world. The cure it seemed was to begin planning another walk, however that adventure is two years away and I needed to channel my energy into something right now. The result is my very first book.

I had been contemplating a book for quite some time however I wondered how worthwhile it would be considering the detail I included on my blog. In the end I felt this was one adventure that deserved the extra effort and in publishing the book I’ve crossed another item off my bucket list.

I decided not to rewrite my blog entries but to restrict myself to minor edits such as typos and removing references that made little sense in book form. I’ve complemented the original text with maps and over 250 photos, some of which were not featured in my online gallery. I’ve also reflected on many aspects of my journey in other sections of the book, including the chapter introductions.

I published the book through Blurb.com and they include a slick little preview tool that lets you browse a small version of the entire book. The motivation behind the book was not a monetary one but I have decided to offer the book for sale through Blurb’s online bookstore. They offer a print-on-demand service and so even though the book was written in Canada and published through a US company it will likely be printed in your own country (my copies were printed in Calgary and shipped to me by Canada Post). I believe copies purchased in the UK will be printed in the UK. I’ve found the service extremely quick, in fact I received my first copy of the book within 4 business days of submitting the order … amazing!

It’s been a fun experiment and in the end I have a great souvenir of my End to End walk. If you’re considering a book of your own and have any questions please feel free to ask.

4 thoughts on “End to End in 2010 … in Print!

  1. Wow, Steve! This is incredible! Your book is even more amazing than the walk itself. I’m going to order one and use it for my own planning. Or better yet, I’ll do a search and replace of names and dates, and then publish my own book and not have to do the walk. Or maybe I’ll just read your book in the shower, and pretend I’m in Britain. Congratulations on another job well done.

    Ken

  2. Thanks Ken! It was fun putting the book together as it gave me a chance to relive every day of the walk. I hope you enjoy the book and I’m pleased to say you will find your name in the acknowledgements section too.

    It won’t be long now until I can start following your walk as well as a couple of others on my links page. I’m looking forward to it.

    Cheers,
    Steve

    PS. Be sure to remove the dust jacket before entering the shower … or better yet order the laminated softcover version 🙂

  3. Congratulations on a fantastic piece of work. You should be really proud of producing a quality book that does justice to your walk.
    I also suffered withdrawal symptoms and like you I have spent the winter writing up my LEJOG and I hope to turn it into a website. However, having looked at your magnum opus I feel very deflated. (I now know how the cyclists that I met felt when they proclaimed proudly that they were cycling from Lands End to John O’Groats only to find out that I was walking it!)

    Well done.
    Pete (with Gyp lying by my side resting after today’s walk)

Leave a Reply

