British (Columbia) Summertime

When anyone asks me when they should visit the west coast I tell them the last two weeks of July are a sure thing if you’re looking for hot and sunny weather. So much for that sage advice. The warm weather that had arrived in time for my last posting is a distant memory and the less said about the Stanley Cup Finals the better.

I recently found a book entitled Best of British, “a humorous collection of all things quirky about Britain and the Brits”. Apart from spelling ‘humourous’ incorrectly it’s a great little book and I couldn’t help but think their page on British Summertime described our own situation rather well.

I haven’t made much progress on planning my next UK walk but I did subscribe to Ordnance Survey’s GetaMap service which allows me to plot routes, organize them and print them out. It can also overlay a variety of ‘Points of Interest’ including accommodation and pubs. My initial impression is that it is well worth the £18/year subscription (a special promotional price … I believe it normally costs £30/year). Note: Getamap requires the Microsoft Silverlight plug-in be installed on your browser.

I just joined a UK walking discussion board which I look forward to participating in. I’m also trying to get my hands on a new book called “The Channel Islands Way” although for some reason the publisher won’t let Amazon.co.uk ship to overseas addresses. I’m trying to contact the publisher directly but the email address I was given apparently doesn’t exist . At this point I’d be more than happy with an e-book version for my iPad.

2 thoughts on “British (Columbia) Summertime

  1. Hiya. Did I say “Happy New Year” this year?

    I can easily order “The Channel Island Way” – the paperback version. Amazon would deliver it to me here in Bedford on Monday if I buy online this evening (Saturday). Free delivery too. Total cost GBP9.95. I haven’t been able to find an ebook version.

    I’d be more than happy to send the copy to you if you wish as a return gift for the book you presented me with.

    Best wishes,

    Brian

  2. Hi Brian … thanks very much and a belated Happy New Year to you too. I’ll drop you an email regarding the book! Cheers, Steve.

Leave a Reply

