Four years ago …

Four years ago today I woke up in London, the first day of my 2010 adventure, and less than a week away from the official start of my LEJOG walk. While it wasn’t that long ago it seems like an eternity, especially when there are no new long-distance walks on the horizon. Had I not cancelled my 2014 leave of absence I would now be scrambling to make last minute preparations for a flight to England next weekend. Alas, it’s not to be in 2014. I know I’m not the only walker to wrestle with work commitments and so I’ll keep my whinging to a minimum. I’m still hopeful I may be in a position to resurrect my walk this time next year.

With Mark Moxon’s discussion forum temporarily closed (he’s currently exploring South and Central America) I find myself out of touch with potential 2014 LEJOG blogs. I am however aware of two Long Distance walks being undertaken by former LEJOGers Jack Frost and Ken Klug. Jack will begin his source to sea Thames Path walk on June 13th while Ken embarks on a two-month walk, also incorporating the Thames Path, in mid-June.

I do know of a JOGLE attempt beginning on June 30th. Big Dave’s Little Stroll End2End2014 is in support of three charities so be sure to check it out. This morning I discovered a LEJOG that began last Monday: Adam Dawson has just completed Day 5 of his Land’s End to John O’Groats 2014 charity walk for the World Scout Jamboree.

If you are aware of any other LEJOG/JOGLEs currently underway or planned for this year please contact me or leave a comment below. I’d love to follow them and I’ll be sure to include it on my Links page.

7 thoughts on “Four years ago …

  1. Hi Brian,

    It’s wonderful to hear from you and thanks very much for the link. I have now two to follow every day 🙂

    Updating my blog today started me thinking about what I’d like to do next year. If I can’t get a long leave I think there’s a good chance I could negotiate a month away. Perhaps a month long walk each of the next 4 years rather than 1 four month walk? Something to ponder as I head off with my partner to one of the newer Freehouses in town (a very nice selection of beers will help me think!).

    Thanks again,
    Steve

  2. Hi Steve as planned and all going well Alfie and me are still all systems go for our jogle this year starting in early August!
    Andy

  3. Hi Andy,

    I’m glad to hear your plans are still on track for a JOGLE in August. I usually check your blog as well as John’s and Russ’s as there is almost always a walk in the works. I’m looking forward to following along. Thanks for the note and pass along my hellos to Alfie!

    Cheers,
    Steve

  4. Hi Steve, what a year 2010 was, glad you are like so many of us looking forward to doing more when time permits.
    Cheers J.P.

      • Alfie says hi Steve! 😉
        And we’re both hoping this years another corker! Tho I don’t know how we can match 2010!!! So many wonderful memories!

Leave a Reply

