More long-distance walking blogs to follow

Walking south along the Cleveland Way, 2001

Walking south along the Cleveland Way in 2001

I’m in a rambling sort of mind these days and I’m collecting long-distance walking blogs. Last week’s appeal netted several more and my Links page has been updated to include all of them.

There are currently three LEJOG’s underway: Keith and Lynn (began Feb. 28),  Bob George (began Mar. 23) and Adam Dawson (began Mar. 24). Another gets underway on June 2nd (Leonie Hirst) and, as mentioned last time, Dave Redmond’s JOGLE begins on June 30th.

Jack Frost’s and Ken Klug’s long-distance walks, both beginning in June, were reported on last time however I failed to mention Andy and Alfie’s JOGLE which is still on schedule to begin in late August. Yesterday I discovered John MacPhee’s Long Straight Walk LEJOG which begins Sept. 6. He’s walking to raise awareness of Parkinson’s Disease and his route is a unique one as it will include several ferry crossings.

As I have no new walking photos to share I’m digging back into the archives. I’ve not walked the Cleveland Way in its entirety but I have walked most sections over half a dozen visits to the North York Moors in the 90’s and early 00’s. The walk from Whitby to Robin Hood’s Bay is a favourite and one I included on my 1998 small-group walking tour. I seem to remember that the weather was not quite as hospitable on that particular day.

4 thoughts on “More long-distance walking blogs to follow

  1. Hi. I know M&G go for a walk are on your links but just in case you haven’t dipped in lately they are walking from their home in the Midlands up to Torriden I think to start the TGOC on 9 May.
    Bill

    • Hi Bill! Nice to hear from you and thanks for the tip. I hadn’t checked their blog lately but I’m now well on my way to catching up on their latest walk. Cheers, Steve

  2. Hello Neil & Tanya! Thanks very much for the link which I’ve just added to my Links page. I love your idea of doing back to back end to end walks in Ireland and Britain. I’m now caught up and look forward to following your progress south. Thanks again for getting in touch and I hope things dry out for you soon. Cheers, Steve.

Leave a Reply

